Chunky can only work as a description for three things: Soup, Chocolate Chip Cookies and Necklaces.

December 3, 2010 § Leave a comment

Today I went to the mall and almost cried. It was as if I was trying to fit in with the thirteen year old crowd who enjoy calling the mall their regular hangout, the ones who are standing in line at the Cinnabon crying because Jimmy made out with Sally and how could Sally do that she never liked Jimmy before! Now, I didn’t actually look like these pubescent, hormonal girls, but I felt like them. I went into the mall and wouldn’t allow myself to buy anything.

Before the Clueless, Legally Blonde or any other “bimbo likes to shop, but proves her intelligence in the end” reference, let me make that last statement less dramatic. I really, really wanted to buy clothes, purses, scarfs and shoes. But I was mature and realized that Christmas would be here soon and it would be a waste of money. Side note: I have a feeling this is only the beginning of painful realizations I will be stumbling upon as graduation runs towards me at a pace that I’d really like to slow down.

I lied. I bought one thing. A necklace. It was only eight dollars, so it’s wasn’t that big of a deal, ALL RIGHT?

Since my schedule has been jam packed with, you know, free time, I’ve perused the blog world quite a bit. And what have I taken from it? Other than embarrassment from the fact that looking at a computer screen, instead of interacting with human beings, takes up most of my day, it’s a huge desire for accessories. Rings, scarfs, headbands and necklaces. Today, I indulged in my craving.

I picked this green chunker from Forever 21.

Always gotta have an artsy pic. Helps me keep my indie cred. Sidenote: I have no indie cred, and also don’t really know exactly what that means …

This chunky green necklace was the perfect accessory to start my accessory obsession; a piece that I am excited to wear regularly. So excited, in fact, that I went online when I got home and looked at some other chunky options. Alright, I know I’ve been a little ADD with all of my sidenote business in this post, but the word chunky kind of sounds like a rude description, right? Who would want to be described as chunky? It’s not like the necklace will know, or anything, but it just feels kind of odd …

To end that rant I’m going to show some pics of other chunky (still weird) necklaces I enjoy:

I love the bright color of this one from ModCloth.

Another gem (HAHA get it there are gems in the necklace) from Forever 21.

My fav, found on a Tumblr blog (you can check it out here) and it’s also from ModCloth.

Hopefully I’ll be able to post more pics of my budding accessory collection, but that would mean I need to come into a decent amount of money. Maybe I should buy a lottery ticket. Or rob a bank? Joking. I’m joking. I wouldn’t do that. Hopefully cops don’t monitor online things like this and report me and come question me or something. Can you go to jail for making a joke about robbing a bank? Maybe I should just delete that part …

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chunky can only work as a description for three things: Soup, Chocolate Chip Cookies and Necklaces. at The Ugly Friend.

meta

