Should be Guinness but it’s Gefilte fish.

March 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

Happy St. Patrick’s day everyone! I’m not wearing green but I haven’t been pinched yet – something I’m hoping to avoid. For some reason I really hate pinching. The lack of pinching in my life could also have to do with the fact that I am in the library (yet again) instead of out celebrating in the 70 degree weather. Great timing, finals. The title comes from the fact that I am now writing (correction: staring at a blank page) a Jewish American literature paper, and Gefilte fish is this Jewish dish consisting of minced fish stuffed into fish skin. Sounds appetizing, no? I’ve never tried this Jewish delicacy, but would willingly stuff it down my pipe if it meant I didn’t have to write a comparative research paper during the nicest day Athens has seen since September. Also,  I only used that particular food item so I could do the double G thing with Guinness. I’m a sucker for alliteration.

I should probably get back to pretending to write this paper, but I just wanted to do a short little post to say A) Hi! and B) enjoy the time you have with the people you care about. Many of my friends are done with college this quarter and either aren’t sure when they’re coming back or are already moving onto another chapter of life in a completely different state. It’s so easy to think you’ll always have those people surrounding you, but change happens all the time. Soak up the time you have with them and never forget to let them know how much they mean to you!

I’ve decided to post pics of four things currently getting me through the writing of this paper, enjoy! And, as usual, all of the pics were found on tumblr.

Drinking iced coffee after iced coffee, it's my warm weather staple.

Googling pictures of pug puppies. Judge me. Also, does this photo look slightly creepy to anyone else? Oh well, I find them too damn cute to care.

Obsessing over Emily's, from Cupcakes and Cashmere, life. And closet. And hair. And apartment. And everything. Find a link to her blog on my blogroll!

Knowing that in just three short days I will be on a cruise in the Caribbean and will have forgotten anything having to do with Jewish American literature.

Have a lovely holiday everyone!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Should be Guinness but it’s Gefilte fish. at The Ugly Friend.

meta

